Musica Sacra

Double-Takes: One Text, Two Perspectives

Saturday March 24, 2018 at 7:00 PM

We contrast composers’ settings of selected texts to explore their differing approaches to interpreting the language and evoking its meaning in sound. You'll hear revealing comparisons of Dixit Dominus by Handel and Monteverdi, both set for chorus, soloists, and strings, as well as works by composers old and new: Drop Down Ye Heavens by Judith Weir and Josef Rheinberger; Ubi Caritas by Maurice Duruflé and Ola Gjeilo; and Like as the Hart by Palestrina and Herbert Howells.

Please note early start time.

Covid-19 Protocols

Musica Sacra is requiring that all performers, volunteers, and audience members show proof of vaccination against Covid-19, or a negative PCR test within 3 days in order to attend concerts in-person. Additionally, we require that masks be worn at all times by audience members and performers. Audience members will be spaced apart in the sanctuary to allow for social distancing.

Performance Venue

Purchase tickets for this performance

Performance Notes

Notes on this performance are not yet available.